Standing, L to R: Ann Dillon Flynn, Clerk of the Court, Hon. Tracy A. Bannister, Mary Ann C. Krisa, Kimberly E. Payne, Allyson Kehl-Wierzbowski, Candice A. Sengillo, Presiding Justice Gerald J. Whalen, Hon. E. Jeannette Ogden, Andrew Plewinski, Will Cost, Ryan Ashe, Linda J. Kostin, Hon. Donald A. Greenwood, and Alan L. Ross, Deputy Clerk of the Court.

JustCause, formerly the Volunteer Legal Service Program of Monroe County, Inc. (VLSP), established the Tenant Town and Village Court Pro Bono Program in 2016 to provide free legal representation to unrepresented tenants in eviction proceedings. The program operates in the Town Court of Irondequoit, New York, and is staffed by attorneys from JustCause and the Appellate Division, Fourth Department. 

In 2022-2023 the pro bono attorneys have assisted tenants facing immediate eviction by considering available defenses, making motions, negotiating additional time to move out, and developing a payment agreement that permits the tenant to remain in the tenant’s home.

Under the leadership of Presiding Justice Gerald J. Whalen and the active management of JustCause and Fourth Department attorneys Mary Ann C. Krisa and Linda J. Kostin, the following attorneys from the Fourth Department actively contributed to the success of the Tenant Town and Village Court Program in 2022 and 2023:  Ryan Ashe, Will Cost, Joseph F. Dinolfo, Allyson Kehl-Wierzbowski, Kimberly E. Payne, Andrew Plewinski, Candace Sengillo, and Amy N. Walendziak.  Court Attorneys served in various capacities, including overseeing the program, coordinating volunteers, and providing legal representation at each court session.  The team includes newly admitted attorneys as well as attorneys with over 30 years of experience. 

In 2018, the New York State Bar Association awarded the Fourth Department the President's Pro Bono Service Award in the Government Office category. The Fourth Department also won the award in 2011.

Related Articles:

More Like These:

About the Court

The Supreme Court of the Appellate Division, Fourth Judicial Department hears appeals from the state's trial courts located in the 22 Central and Western New York counties assigned to the Fifth, Seventh, and Eighth Judicial Districts. More »

M. Dolores Denman Courthouse

Dedicated on January 22, 1999, the courthouse is located in the East End community in downtown Rochester, New York. More »

Working Here


Get News Alerts

Follow the Court on Twitter @NYAPPDIV4 for timely alerts on decisions, arguments and other news.

  Comment  Share your thoughts, comments or suggestions as part of the Court's Excellence Initiative.