Current Opportunities

There are no active announcements at this time.

Application Procedure

All interested persons meeting the minimum qualifications are encouraged to submit a UCS-5 Application for Employment form and a resume to the address listed in the job announcement.

Join us and Do Work that Matters

The Court System offers employees a satisfying and rewarding career with competitive compensation and comprehensive benefits.

About the Court

The Supreme Court of the Appellate Division, Fourth Judicial Department hears appeals from the state's trial courts located in the 22 Central and Western New York counties assigned to the Fifth, Seventh, and Eighth Judicial Districts.

The Appellate Division was created by the Constitution of 1894, is divided into four Judicial Departments, and has the power to review issues of both law and fact in civil and criminal matters.

Decisions of the Appellate Division are appealable to the New York State Court of Appeals, but the vast majority of appellate practice occurs at the Appellate Division level.


Public Service Careers

If you are considering a public service career, the New York State Unified Court System (court system) offers varied and rewarding career options, competitive salaries and excellent benefits. Once employed by the court system, you will also find many opportunities to advance your career.

The fundamental mission of the court system is to promote the rule of law and to serve the public by providing just and timely resolution of all matters before the courts. Integral to accomplishing its mission are the 16,000 dedicated Judges and non-judicial employees. As a team, they ensure the successful operation of the courts and deliver outstanding service to the public in one of the busiest court systems in the world.

Throughout New York State, court employees work in many interesting positions providing administrative and operational support in courtrooms and support offices in fields such as security, interpreting, reporting and legal and social services. Outside the courtroom setting, court employees provide professional support in fields such as technology, human resources, finance and management.

Salary & Benefits

  • Competitive Starting Salary with Annual Cost of Living Increases and Longevity Bonus
  • Regular Work Schedule
  • 12 Paid Holidays
  • 20 Paid Vacation Days in the First Year
  • 27 Paid Vacation Days by the Seventh Year
  • Excellent Retirement Benefits including New York State Pension and Deferred Compensation Option
  • Comprehensive Health Insurance
  • Flexible Spending Account
  • Professional Growth and Development

  Comment  Share your thoughts, comments or suggestions as part of the Court's Excellence Initiative.