Hon. Shirley Troutman

The Justices and staff of the Appellate Division, Fourth Department, offer our warmest congratulations to Justice Shirley Troutman on her recent nomination to the New York State Court of Appeals.  In her distinguished career, Justice Troutman has served the Western and Central New York communities as a judge for over thirty years.  Her nomination as the high court’s second black woman judge is both historic and well-deserved.

“The Fourth Department has been the beneficiary of Justice Troutman’s brilliant legal mind and exceptional commitment to equal justice since she joined our Court in 2016,” said Presiding Justice Gerald J. Whalen.  “We could not be more proud of, and excited for, our esteemed colleague and friend.”

Related Articles:

More Like These:

About the Court

The Supreme Court of the Appellate Division, Fourth Judicial Department hears appeals from the state's trial courts located in the 22 Central and Western New York counties assigned to the Fifth, Seventh, and Eighth Judicial Districts. More »

M. Dolores Denman Courthouse

Dedicated on January 22, 1999, the courthouse is located in the East End community in downtown Rochester, New York. More »

Working Here


Get News Alerts

Follow the Court on Twitter @NYAPPDIV4 for timely alerts on decisions, arguments and other news.

  Comment  Share your thoughts, comments or suggestions as part of the Court's Excellence Initiative.