Governor Cuomo’s Executive Order 202.17 directs that anyone “who is over age two and able to medically tolerate a face-covering shall be required to cover their nose and mouth with a mask or cloth face-covering when in a public place and unable to maintain, or when not maintaining, social distance,” effective 8 p.m. on Friday, April 17, 2020.

The Court System is committed to following the most up-to-date guidance issued by public health authorities in order to help ensure the health and safety of all court employees and court users.

Because of COVID-19 concerns, we encourage all who do not have to appear in person to view the oral arguments live via the Court’s website (the arguments are also archived and available for later viewing):

Please Note: The guidelines listed here, current as of August 13, 2021, are subject to amendment in accordance with changing directives of State and federal health authorities. Check back here for updates.

COVID Screening Protocol:

All visitors to UCS courthouses and other court facilities are required to submit to temperature screening and questioning before being granted entrance. This includes parties, attorneys, witnesses, jurors, spectators, law enforcement officers, prisoners, vendors, and all other non-court system personnel.  Visitors with a temperature of 100.0 F. or higher will not be permitted to enter the courthouse or a court-related facility.

Mask Protocol:

All visitors entering a courthouse or court-related facility are required to wear a mask or face covering while inside.  Persons without a mask or face covering will not be permitted to enter.

Status of Green Attorney/Agency Passes and White Visitor Pass Programs:

Effective as of August 13, 2021, and until further notice, these Entry Pass Programs temporarily have been suspended.  We thank those of you who signed up for these programs and appreciate your cooperation and understanding.

You Should NOT Enter a Courthouse if You:

  • Have flu-like symptoms; or
  • Have recently tested positive for COVID, or have been directed to quarantine, isolate or self-monitor at home for the coronavirus by any doctor, hospital, or health agency; or
  • Have recently had close contact with a person testing positive for COVID (unless you are fully vaccinated or have recently recovered from COVID*); or
  • Have returned from international travel within the last 10 days (unless you returned 8-10 days ago and took a viral COVID test 3-5 days after your return**).

* If you are covered by this close contact exemption, please be prepared to provide proof of vaccination or recent recovery from COVID.

** If you are covered by this exemption, please be prepared to provide proof of your test results.

Related Articles:

More Like These:

About the Court

The Supreme Court of the Appellate Division, Fourth Judicial Department hears appeals from the state's trial courts located in the 22 Central and Western New York counties assigned to the Fifth, Seventh, and Eighth Judicial Districts. More »

M. Dolores Denman Courthouse

Dedicated on January 22, 1999, the courthouse is located in the East End community in downtown Rochester, New York. More »

Working Here


Get News Alerts

Follow the Court on Twitter @NYAPPDIV4 for timely alerts on decisions, arguments and other news.

  Comment  Share your thoughts, comments or suggestions as part of the Court's Excellence Initiative.