Justices of the Court

On Wednesday, December 9, the Justices of the Supreme Court, Appellate Division, Fourth Department approved revisions to the Court’s local rules of practice (22 NYCRR Part 1000).  Although most of the amendments to the rules were designed to address minor procedural or language consistency issues, a few of the revisions have more substantial meaning for the appellate bar, including:

Universal E-filing.  Effective April 1, 2021, all matters not previously so subject will be subject to mandatory e-filing in the Fourth Department.  Thus, for those matters not previously designated for mandatory e-filing and in which a notice of appeal is filed, a transfer order is dated, or a special proceeding is commenced in the Court on or after April 1, 2021, e-filing will be mandatory.
Reduced Number of RecordsEffective April 1, 2021, In most matters perfected upon the reproduced full record method or the appendix method, the hard copy filing requirement in 22 NYCRR 1245.6 (a) and 1250.9 (a) (1) and (a) (2) will be met by filing an original and two hard copies of the record or appendix instead of the original and five hard copies currently required.  

A copy of the revised rules may be found here.

Related Articles:

More Like These:

About the Court

The Supreme Court of the Appellate Division, Fourth Judicial Department hears appeals from the state's trial courts located in the 22 Central and Western New York counties assigned to the Fifth, Seventh, and Eighth Judicial Districts. More »

M. Dolores Denman Courthouse

Dedicated on January 22, 1999, the courthouse is located in the East End community in downtown Rochester, New York. More »

Working Here


Get News Alerts

Follow the Court on Twitter @NYAPPDIV4 for timely alerts on decisions, arguments and other news.

  Comment  Share your thoughts, comments or suggestions as part of the Court's Excellence Initiative.