Appellate Division Statewide Rules Working Group

From left to right, Office of Court Administration Counsel John McConnell, First Department Clerk Susanna Rojas, Second Department Clerk Aprilanne Agostino, Third Department Clerk Robert Mayberger, and Fourth Department Clerk Mark Bennett.

‚ÄčAt the New York State Bar Association Meeting in January, the Committee on the Courts of Appellate Jurisdiction awarded OCA Counsel John McConnell and the Clerks of the four Appellate Division Departments a special award for their service to the New York legal profession, particularly for their work in developing and finalizing the statewide Electronic Filing Rules and Practice Rules of the Appellate Division, which went into effect on March 1 and September 17, 2018, respectively. Those new rules, to which former Fourth Department Clerk Frances Cafarell made tremendous contributions, largely replaced and harmonized the separate local rules formerly governing practice in each Department. When receiving their awards, the Clerks made special note of the dedicated work of John McConnell, without whose patience and skill the rules would not have come to fruition.

Related Articles:

More Like These:

About the Court

The Supreme Court of the Appellate Division, Fourth Judicial Department hears appeals from the state's trial courts located in the 22 Central and Western New York counties assigned to the Fifth, Seventh, and Eighth Judicial Districts. More »

M. Dolores Denman Courthouse

Dedicated on January 22, 1999, the courthouse is located in the East End community in downtown Rochester, New York. More »

Working Here


Get News Alerts

Follow the Court on Twitter @NYAPPDIV4 for timely alerts on decisions, arguments and other news.

  Comment  Share your thoughts, comments or suggestions as part of the Court's Excellence Initiative.